top of page

Frequently Asked Questions

Start your Recommendation in 3 Easy Steps

Call or Text





The most common

questions regarding

Medical Marijuana and

how to receive a recommendation are

answered on this page.

If you still have  questions, contact us and

speak to one of our friendly medical staff members.

Start your Recommendation in 3 Easy Steps

Call or Text





The most common

questions regarding

Medical Marijuana and

how to receive a recommendation are

answered on this page.

If you still have  questions, contact us and

speak to one of our friendly medical staff members.

How do I qualify for medical marijuana?

Florida patients must first qualify for a medical marijuana recommendation before purchasing cannabis from a medical marijuana treatment center or dispensary.


FPCC provides qualified patients with the required state recommendation. To qualify in the State of Florida a patient must have a qualifying diagnosis from a healthcare provider.


Visit our diagnosis page to see if you qualify or call or text our office at 407-299-7791.  


We’re happy to review your personal medical history for FREE and recommend the best course of treatment for you!

What Conditions qualify for a medical marijuana certification?

The following conditions qualify for medical marijuana treatment in Florida as outlined by Amendment 2

  • ALS

  • Cancer

  • Crohn’s disease

  • Epilepsy

  • Glaucoma


  • Multiple sclerosis

  • Parkinson’s disease

  • PTSD

In addition to these qualifying conditions, Senate Bill 8A also allows for treatment of other “diagnosable, debilitating conditions of like, kind, or class”, terminal conditions and chronic nonmalignant pain.


To find out if your condition is eligible, simply visit our diagnosis page or give us a call or text at 407-299-7791!

What if I don't have a qualifying condition?

Florida’s Constitution gives physicians the authority to give recommendations to those who suffer from “medical conditions of the same kind or class as or comparable to those enumerated.”


If you do not qualify after speaking with our physician, you will receive a 100% refund.

How much does it cost?

First-time patients and recommendation renewals are $175.  Florida law requires patients to complete an in-personal appointment every 210 days.


FPCC is happy to extend a $15 discount to all veterans and active duty service members.


There is also a State of  Florida Department of Health fee of $75 paid yearly.

Do you offer a military discount?

Yes! We honor our veterans and military service members by offering a $15 discount on medical marijuana recommendation appointment fees.

What others fees will I have to pay?

We charge $175 for a 210 day recommendation. That's it! No hidden fees.


The State of Florida charges a medical marijuana card fee of $75 yearly.

What forms of payment do you accept?

We accept all major credit and debit cards.  Insurance, Medicare and Medicaid do not cover medical marijuana due to federal regulations.


Some insurance companies may offer reimbursement if you submit a receipt for your visit.

Is Insurance accepted?

Marijuana is still illegal on the federal level  so accepting insurance is prohibited?

Will I see a doctor?

Yes! Dr. Khanna is an M.D. with a specialty in Internal medicine and pain management. He has taken additional state mandated courses in medical marijuana treatment and is certified by the State of Florida to offer medical marijuana recommendations.

What do I bring to my medical marijuana evaluation appointment?

  • A valid Florida drivers licenses or ID card with your current address. 

  • Medical records from your doctor

  • Laboratory results and/or imaging reports may be helpful.

  • Documentation from the provider that other treatments have been tried unsuccessfully. 

What if I'm not a Florida resident?

State law permits “seasonal residents” with debilitating conditions to be certified for medical marijuana with the following conditions:

  • Patient spends at least 31 consecutive days in Florida each year

  • Maintains a temporary residence in this state,

  • Returns to the state of residence at least once each year

  • Registered to vote or pays income tax in another state

For more information on seasonal resident requirements see our newsletter page: Seasonal residents and Medical marijuana. 

How long does it take to get my approval?

In most cases you get your approval and can go to the dispensary the same day. Non-Florida residence can take up to 10 days for approval. 

How long does my certification last?

Florida law requires patients to have an in-person office visit every 210 days to renew their recommendation. 


We charge $175 for this renewal appointment.


FPCC is happy to offer a $20 discount to all veterans and active duty service members. 

What if I have a concealed weapon permit? 

Medical Marijuana patients under Federal Law are prohibited from purchasing new firearms during the duration of the term of their medical marijuana card. The reason for this are in fact federal laws not Florida laws.

What is an MMJ caregiver and how do I get an MMJ caregiver card?

 “The qualified patient's legal representative may purchase and possess for the patient's medical use up to the amount of low-THC cannabis or medical cannabis ordered for the patient, but not more than a 45-day supply, and a cannabis delivery device ordered for the patient.” Section 381.986(9)(a), Florida Statutes.

A caregiver must:

  • Be a Florida resident

  • Be 21 years of age or older

  • Not be a qualified physician

  • Not be employed by or have economic interest in a Medical Marijuana Treatment Center (MMTC) or a certified marijuana testing laboratory (CMTL)

  • Successfully complete the caregiver certification course within the Medical Marijuana Use Registry every 2 years

  • Pass a background screening, unless the patient is a close relative of the caregiver

  • Obtain and be in immediate possession of a Medical Marijuana Use Registry Caregiver identification card at all times when in possession of marijuana or a marijuana delivery device

  • Not receive compensation, other than actual expenses incurred, for any services provided to the qualified patient

Review the state’s Caregiver Certification Course Study Guide.


We can assist you in preparing for your exam at the time of the patient visit.

Florida’s Caregiver Certification Course is free of charge and administered through the Medical Marijuana Use Registry. 

There is no charge to assist a caregiver in processing their state application and successfully completing the exam.

Section 381.986(6)(b)6., Florida Statutes, requires caregivers to provide proof that they successfully passed the level 2 background screening pursuant to section 381.986(9), Florida Statutesunless the patient is a close relative of the caregiver. Therefore, caregivers that do not qualify as close relatives must successfully complete a level 2 background screening.

How is medical marijuana administered?

Medical Marijuana is administered in a variety of ways, including;

  • Smokable Flower

  • Edibles

  • Inhalation (e.g., vaporization)

  • Oral (e.g., capsules, tinctures)

  • Sublingual (e.g., sublingual tinctures)

  • Suppository

  • Topical (e.g., creams)

  • High CBD


Can a medical card from another state be used in Florida?

You must have a State of Florida issued medical marijuana card.


Obtaining a recommendation card from FPCC is easy and often same day appointments are available.

Can I obtain Medical Marijuana from a pharmacy?

No. In the state of Florida, medical marijuana is obtained from a state approved medical marijuana treatment center or dispensary.


See our dispensary page for a list of State of Florida approved treatment Centers.

What is the difference between low-THC cannabis and medical marijuana?

State of Florida requirements state that the flowers, seeds, resin, and any other product derived from the cannabis plant contains 0.8% or less of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) — the psychoactive component in marijuana.-THC marijuana is defined as containing 0.8 percent or less of the psychoactive compound tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), and more than 10 percent of cannabidiol (CBD).


Low-THC marijuana typically does not produce the euphoria (high) often associated with medical cannabis.

Certain medical conditions, such as insomnia, anxiety, and acute pain, respond best to low-THC/high CBD marijuana.


Patients that experience chronic pain, depression, fatigue, nausea, weight loss, and gastrointestinal disorders often respond better to high-THC medical cannabis.

At FPCC, patients will be recommended for both options for better symptom control and improved wellness.

What if my employer is a drug free work place?

Cannabinoids, are listed among the drugs prohibited by the drug-free workplace statute.


Although the law has changed in Florida to allow the use of medical marijuana for debilitating conditions, it remains unlawful to use or test positive for marijuana in a drug-free workplace.


It is advised to speak with your human resource department to better understand your companies policy.

What if I'm on probation?

According to The Florida Department of Corrections, if a probationer has a valid medical marijuana card, they will not be drug tested for marijuana use while on probation in Florida.


However, even if you possess a medical marijuana card, you can still be tested for other illegal drugs while on probation. 


FPCC will provide you with a letter to give to your probation officer stating that you have been approved for a medical marijuana recommendation.


Start your Recommendation in 3 Easy Steps

Call or Text





The most common questions regarding

Medical Marijuana and

how to receive a recommendation are answered on this page.

If you still have  questions, contact us and speak to one of our friendly medical staff members.


Call or Text 407-299-7791  

Calm Sea

The Wellness Newsletter

Stay informed with the FPCC newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter 
Don’t miss out on the latest information!

Thanks for subscribing!

Woman on Phone


Speak with a qualified FPCC medical staff member today!
Call or Text 407-299-7791
bottom of page